The Noahide Commandments

0 0
  • image-0-thumb

Jews do not take a particular view on other religions and their practices and beliefs, so long as they are broadly moral and teach people to behave well.

As long ago as Roman times, Jewish scholars had outlined seven basic moral laws. These were called the Noahide Commandments, which in their view were all that was required for people to live a decent life. 

  1. Do not worship false gods
  2. Do not murder
  3. Do not steal or kidnap
  4. Do not be sexually immoral
  5. Do not blaspheme
  6. Do not eat any flesh that was torn from the body of a living animal (traditionally interpreted as a prohibition against cruelty towards animals).
  7. Do set up a system of honest, effective courts, police and laws.