The Ten Commandments

0 0
  • image-0-thumb

In the Torah Jewish tradition identifies 613 rules. Ten of these are known as the Ten Commandments. 

  1. I am the LORD your God who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery. You shall have no other God to set against me.
  2. You shall not make a carved image for yourself nor the likeness of anything... ...for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God.... ...But I keep faith with thousands, with those who love me and keep my commandments.
  3. You shall not make use of the name of the LORD your God; the LORD will not leave unpunished the man who misuses his name.
  4. Remember to keep the sabbath day holy. ...the seventh day is a sabbath of the LORD your God; that day you shall not do any work... ...the LORD blessed the sabbath day and declared it holy.
  5. Honour your father and mother, that you may live long in the land which the LORD your God is giving you.
  6. You shall not commit murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not give false evidence against your neighbour.
  10. You shall not covet your neighbour’s house... ...or anything that belongs to him.

The Ten Commandments are also crucial to Christianity.

Within the 603 other Commandments are rules dealing with the Jewish people’s relationship with the Almighty, and their relationship with other people.